webinar register page

Webinar banner
In Conversation: Fred Moten and Legacy Russell
On the occasion of the exhibition ‘Jack Whitten. I AM THE OBJECT’ at 542 West 22nd Street, please join cultural theorist, poet and scholar Fred Moten and Legacy Russell, Associate Curator of Exhibitions at The Studio Museum in Harlem, and author of ‘Glitch Feminism: A Manifesto,’ in conversation on the legendary artist Jack Whitten. Moten and Russell will discuss Whitten's ‘Notes from the Woodshed’ and the artist's negotiation of Black matter, Black abstraction, objecthood and subjecthood, and improvisation. The conversation will expand on how—to call on Whitten's words from his final log entry in 2017—‘art is our compass to the cosmos.’

This event will conclude with an open Q&A.

Join us live on Zoom on Tuesday 19 January 2021, 12 pm PST / 3 pm EST / 8 pm GMT.

Jan 19, 2021 03:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Hauser & Wirth.